Reviews

Most

Doesn't really improve on the already-basically-perfect DOOM16 so much as it does tack on a ton of capital G Game Design concepts and call it a day. By far the weakest part of 16 were the story and the upgrade system, neither of which felt much more than half-hearted "Well, If I Have To" situations, and Eternal triples down on both these aspects without really changing its attitude about either concept. There are so many upgrade trees in this game it's like a joke you would make about modern upgrade systems but played completely sincere, and the story is so overly self-serious and obsessed with making the Doom Slayer into something more than Angry Man Go Brrr that it completely spoils the appeal of having some random, very fucking angry man be so terrifying at a primal level that they locked him in a sarcophagus in hell with third-rate Chosen One bullshit. If they were trying to make the lore so convoluted that its meant to be funny I'm not sure why they focused all their efforts on elaborating on a joke that was already long played out the first time.

Speaking of jokes, this game has exactly two of them, one being the phrase "mortally challenged", which they beat you around the head with so often that every time you hear them your eyes roll further back into their sockets. 16 already played the corporate hell-lovers bit to the point it didn't register and Eternal seems to have been so desperate to resuscitate it that they pinned all their hopes on a phrase that *sounds* satirical but is actually just confusing in intent and toothless. If you managed to have clueless right-wingers (aka all of them) cheering about how your game is sticking it to minorities maybe reconsider the joke.

Despite the combat still being extremely good it also incorporates the absolute bane of my existence of Simon Says Weak Points where you have certain weapons or attacks that are objectively the best option and you go through a routine of doing them over and over. I know they wanted to avoid the 16 problem that the super shotgun was so versatile that you didn't need anything else but they massively overcorrected and in the process turned the fun arsenal of weapons into a bunch of specific tools that you don't want to play with as much. Meanwhile the game is *also* so paranoid that people still won't get it that they also just outright tell you what the weakpoint is any time you meet up with that enemy for the first time in a big tooltip. No room for experimentation, stop playing with the cool toys, you have to do it like this now, okay, pay attention. The marauder is, of course, many people's breaking point for this newly-created problem, as it's so demanding of an incredibly specific play pattern with little to no room for experimentation or even slip ups that it's very easy to get caught slipping and die.

The short version: id got paranoid that people weren't "playing the game right", overcorrected, added tons of unnecessary game design concepts because marketing told them to, fucked over mick gordon for basically no reason other than shockingly bad management practices, and now DOOM went from one of the coolest reboots of an iconic series into a slightly-above-average shooty game. I hear Dusk is pretty good, though.

PS. oh my fucking god the platforming is DOGSHIT

Reviewed on Jul 12, 2020

0

What a game damn

Reviewed on Jul 10, 2020

1

I think Doom 2016 is basically perfect. This game makes 2016 look like garbage. I didn’t think there was much they could improve on but holy shit. I think this is one of the best games ever made. I can’t think of a game that’s kept me this consistently entertained. I got sad when I realized it was nearly over. It’s one of the most lovingly-crafted and best paced games I’ve ever played. If you so much as like FPS games, do yourself a favor and play it.

Reviewed on Jul 09, 2020

0

Probably the greatest FPS game ever made which is saying a lot considering it's part of the greatest FPS game series.

Reviewed on Jul 04, 2020

0

*GUITARS GET LOUDER*

Reviewed on Jun 29, 2020

1

It's ultra violence perfected in every way. My favorite from this year, and I totally need to 100% it really soon.

Reviewed on Jun 27, 2020

0

El de 2016 es mejor en historia, pero este es mejor en gameplay

Reviewed on Jun 25, 2020

0

Fun

Reviewed on Jun 18, 2020

2

Doom Eternal is short and simply said the absolute adrenaline kick. The flow in the arena fights is probably unparalleled in the shooter genre, while in the background the often brutal soundtrack drives you to be even faster and more effective in fighting dozens of demons.

The developers manage that all gameplay ingredients flow almost perfectly into each other from a certain point on. The quick switch between weapons, chainsaw, grenade and flamethrower is easy as you jump and run around the arena. In addition there are quiet passages, which are complemented in Doom Eternal by nice, though not too difficult jump passages.

Meanwhile, the story is taken much more serious than its predecessor. Doom Eternal throws you a lot of lore-entries and terms around the ears, which honestly confused me at times. Without reading the Wiki I would not have understood some of the references in their entirety.

Nevertheless: Doom Eternal is a fantastic first-person shooter, which is not only this year, but the entire console generation at the very top.

Reviewed on Jun 15, 2020

1

An amazing followup to an already amazing reboot. But the new multiplayer mode is one of the worst concepts I have ever seen (and its the only one). Thank god there are cheats I can play around with in the campaign.

Reviewed on Jun 09, 2020

0

A good game that feels burdened by a bunch of design decisions that are cool on paper but unfun in practice.

Reviewed on Jun 06, 2020

0

Kind of amazing how much this improves on Doom 2016's action fps formula. One of the best fps games ever made.

Reviewed on May 26, 2020

1

Doom Eternal is the best action FPS game to this date. It’s challenging, but also provides a good amount of freedom to the player for them to creatively express their skill. To clarify, an action FPS is an FPS that focuses more on mechanical skill (aiming, movement) over strategy (resource management, positioning). Contrary to the old style, which uses finite resources, Doom Eternal resources are cycle based - you regather resources in a cycle similar to arena FPS games. Because of this you are forced to use your entire arsenal at once. You need to find the best usage of each weapon in the given situation for each cycle. This is contrary to the retro style of fps, where the resources are distributed for the whole level instead in a timeframe. Similarly the damage you are allowed to take is also based on cycles. While you can keep regaining health though Glory Kills, the armour is still locked behind this cycle based gameplay.

One of the core aspects of the game is the movement and how it is used for the gameplay. Usually in those types of games the main idea of the movement is to allow the player to dodge attacks and projectiles, and while this is true, there is an even more important aspect to the movement in Eternal - the map traversal. You need to keep relocating if you want to survive in Eternal. While you could skillfully deal with a handful of enemies through dodging and being efficient with your damage, you will inevitably be overrun by a lot more than you can handle if you stay in the same place. Combine that with the enhanced movement of the enemies compared to previous titles and the intricate arenas created to emphasize your ability to traverse them, and you get a very interesting mix of platforming and FPS combat. This serves to intensify the combat even more, by making each second you stand still dangerous and also forces you to shoot while on the move, making it harder to aim. One thing that the map movement does not work with is the cycle based resource gathering. To gather resources your best targets are fodder demons that spawn in specific locations. This makes the resource gathering process itself rather uninteresting, as you just cycle through one location on the map every time. While with interesting level design and ambushes that could work better, it is still very limited to what you can do with it. This was a place where the game could have taken more from the arena FPS genre and bring respawning resources in the arena itself. This would bring more strategic decisions, since now you don’t have just 1 spot to gather ALL kinds of resources, but rather you need to go to different spots on the map to collect different resources. This would make the movement more interesting outside just of enemy management by adding a resource management aspect to it. It could also be used in plethora more interesting ways compared to the current system in the level design itself.

What is easily the biggest strength of Eternal is the enemy roster. Almost every enemy does its job extremely well. Early on the fodder enemies you fight provide decent challenge until you gather your better equipment and abilities, and later on they still have use, not as a threat, but rather for resources. You could easily dispatch them if you need, and you will easily dispatch them while fighting stronger demons due to the use of explosive weapons, however a lot of the time this won’t really be a good thing for you - you want to keep them alive. The hell knight and the dread knight are another good insensitive to put you on the move, and especially the dread knight with its area denial ability. The Arachnotron and the Mancubi are great long range enemies that most of your time will be one of your first targets, or at least their weak points will be. The Pain Elemental similar to the original game brings time to the equation of the combat as the longer they are left alive, the more dangerous they become similar to the original games. Still contrary to them, they don’t have a lasting effect even after they have died like the original, however they are also way more dangerous upfront, so even without many lost souls spawned they are still a big threat. The Carcass is easily one of the best supporting FPS enemies. They are scripted to spawn the shields in very dangerous locations and hinder any plans you currently have. They try to prevent you from shooting at the target you are currently prioritizing, and spawning a shield in your face makes it risky to use the Rocket Launcher because of its splash damage. They can also use shields to prevent you from Glory Killing enemies. Carcasses force you to be even more adaptive to the situation, especially because they’re not that easy to kill; they are often placed in spots you can’t easily get to, and they are one of the few enemies with a tracking ranged hard knockback (albeit they use it mostly in defense), which on hit briefly stuns you, and in a game about constant movement this is even more dangerous. The mobile enemies, the Whiplash and the Prowler, can be really devastating. While they don’t have that much DPS and cannot easily kill the player by themselves, they specialize in hindering your movement, which allows the other demons to sneak attacks in. The Whiplash is especially dangerous - it is harder to kill than the Prowler and you are forced to actually dodge mindfully to not get hit by its hard knockback. Their speed and aggression is also essential to this, making them an immediate threat as you can’t keep running away from them and evading them constantly. The Prowler on the other hand is much easier to kill and does not have hard knockback on its attacks, however their ability to teleport behind you and bodyblock you serves as a hard counter against camping and backpedaling. This could potentially make them extremely dangerous. An issue with them is that they also look similar to the Imps, so you might try to Chainsaw a Prowler for ammo thinking it’s an Imp, only for the unskippable Chainsaw rev animation to play because Prowlers take three pips of fuel to Chainsaw instead of one. The weakest enemies from the heavy demons roster are the Cacos, Revenants and the Pinkies. The Pinkies are rendered almost useless compared to the previous game because of your expanded vertical movement, which let you spend way more time in the air and making their ground attacks pathetic. The Cacos, while dangerous if left alone, can be easily stunned into a Glory Kill state with only 1 Sticky Bomb (ammo for which you will almost never run out for) in their weakspot. The issue with the Revenants is that they are ineffective at pressuring the player on either time or space, leaving them devoid of a niche in the enemy roster and a reason to ever prioritize them. They just feel like a heavier fodder enemy.

Last but not least are the super heavy enemies. They are the biggest threats in each encounter. The Barons of Hell are essentially super duper Hell Knights. They are extremely tanky, so even though they are an extreme threat, they are still very low on your priority list because they take significant commitment to kill but aren’t good at directly damaging you. By the time they’re introduced, you are already used to moving around the arena a lot, and their aggression would never let you stay in the same place.. The Tyrant/Cyberdemon is another tanky enemy, but instead of focusing on chasing you down, it is a slow ranged powerhouse. If you are not careful, you could very easily die to its laser attack or the artillery shots. However, he has one glaring weakness - his attacks are also slow. This allows you to very easily dodge those attacks, but there is an even more important aspect to his attacks - monster infighting. Because of his slow attacks and inaccuracy, he is extremely hazardous not only to you, but to other demons as well. This could lead to much more interesting usage of the Tyrant, than dispatching him when you can. The Doom Hunter, who is originally a boss, is one of the best enemies in the game. He has 2 phases, one is more tanky with a shield, which could influence your weapon choice, and the other phase is mobile, but easy to kill. He could also deal significant damage covering both close and long range, and his general mobility keeps him a threat all the time. He doesn’t have a main goal as most other enemies and is instead an all around enemy. Because of that he would never take all your attention to fight him and also that he can play any role allows him to synchronize with all the rest of the enemies. The Archvile takes the place of the Summoner from the previous game, but is way tankier. It also presents a bigger threat since instead of just spawning fodder it can also spawn buffed Heavy demons in large numbers and even other Super Heavy Demons. This makes them the enemies with the highest priority. There are no more Super Heavy Demons.

The Doomslayer in this game is way stronger than his 2016 counterpart. On top of having a rechargeable chainsaw and a way to gain armour from enemies, the movement abilities of the Doomslayer have gone through the roof. Even though the movement speed of Doomslayer is slightly lower than before, being able to dash more than compensate for that. You would be flying through the map like a mad man, especially with well time dashes. Not only that but this brings a new form of dodging outside of circle strafing and baiting attacks to make dealing with enemies more interesting. The grapple hook on the SSG also makes the movement incredibly fast in the game. It allows for making a super jump, by using any enemy, which is essential for the vertical movement. Though some more skilled use (and the air control rune), it could also be used to gather a lot of momentum quickly. The game also offers a lot of bounce pads and money bars, giving you even more ways to traverse the arena. On top of that the current version of the Ballista boost (formerly the Gauss boost ) allows you to preserve momentum even after a double jump, allowing for way more lateral movement. This with the vertical height you can gain, would allow you to clear any arena in 1 Ballista boost.

Another important aspect is the arsenal of the Doomslayer himself. The starting shotgun quickly loses its usefulness after the start of the game. Later on it can still be used to kill fodder enemies quickly, but as we established that isn’t really a good choice most of the time. However it can still be used to get enemies into glory kill state instead of outright killing them. The only other usage is for the sticky grenades against the Cacos and against some other weak spots. Sadly it lacks the damage to be useful for anything else in either variation (the automatic variation is completely useless after the early game). The rifle on the other hand has become a stronger weapon both for its primary fire and also for its Sniper mode. Not only is the Sniper mode good for dealing with weak points, it also deals considerable damage, so it is a good choice in combination with reload canceling for long range DPS. The Plasma rifle is another good weapon for continuous DPS, however it is overshadowed by other weapons when they are used with the reload canceling ability. It is effective at dealing with fodder, but that isn’t really something you should be thinking about. The biggest use of it is actually the microwave variation, as it allows you to crowd control all the demons with carefully calculated damage on a single enemy (if you damage the enemy just enough for it to be close to death and to not enter the glory kill state you can almost instantly blow it up with the microwave). It can also be used to quickly stun any enemy with just a momentary beam, which could open up the defense of some enemies like the Mancubi, letting you get close to quickly kill them, without them using their AoE attack. The Rockets are an essential weapon of your arsenal. They are one of the main weapons you can use to maximize your DPS thought reload canceling. The lock-on mod is also great for dealing good amounts of damage and dealing with more dangerous mobile enemies quickly. The self-detonate on the other hand is important for its ability to stun demons. The SSG is the other heavy damage dealer of your arsenal, and it is extremely sensitive to range. In midrange it is already really weak, but at point blank is the most devastating weapon in your arsenal. The Ballista is the other DPS weapon you should use. What is good about it is that you can use it at ANY range, making both a good pick for reload canceling on long range, mid range and close range. It is also strong against flying enemies, and it has the mobility option we talked about in the previous paragraph. Last but not least is the chaingun - it can quickly shred enemies, and more importantly stun chasing enemies like the knights and the Baron. The effective usage of your arsenal is obviously thought switching between weapons to cancel the reload, and also it is about managing the stun on tankier enemies you try to combo to death. This could be done through a grenade (which you can shoot while shooting a weapon), the remote detonate, the microwave tap or explosion, a glory punch (boosted punch, which recharges from glory kills), or shooting a weak point. By chaining those stuns together you can be close to an enemy to maximize your DPS without getting damaged yourself. However one important thing about those ways to stun an enemy is that they involve AoE damage (except the weak points and the microwave tap). This would lead to killing off fodder enemies, which could be a damaging decision to you in the long run.

This paragraph will be about some miscellaneous things and issues with the game. First I would like to mention that the pacing on Doom Eternal is way faster than 2016 in terms of progression. You start the game with the double jump, and you very quickly gain access to your abilities and the meat of your arsenal. The collectables are fairly easy to get, and even if you don’t hunt them, you are still likely to have full upgrades towards the end of the game. Important to this is the fast travel feature, which allows you to backtrack more quickly though a level after you complete it, to hunt down all the collectables. However this can’t be used when revisiting missions. This could be problematic both if you wanted to gather the items later on, or if you just wanted to play again a specific encounter of a level. The platforming is another weak point of the game. While the movement in the game is very strong, the game is littered with invisible walls. There are so many places you could reach through an alternative path using your movement, but often that place is specifical locked with an invisible wall, and you are forced to get through it, by the clear path set by the developer. This makes the puzzles and the platforming more Zelda-style in the sense you do not have the freedom to apply your own solution through interesting usage of the mechanics. Most of the bosses are also a big disappointment, some being just basic timing puzzles, and even the good ones lack diversity for their many phases. Another issue with the game is the HUD, important information such as the cooldowns on your Chainsaw, Flame Blech, dash and your Blood Punch are tucked away in the corners of your screen. While this is standard for many games, for a high speed game like Doom Eternal that just isn’t suitable. Having an option for a center bottom HUD, and more importantly small indicators for health/ammo, and the availability of your abilities around the crosshair, are essential for such a high speed game. The lack thereof means people are either going to underuse their abilities, or make a bad call thinking their abilities were available.

Now let’s address the elephant in the room - the Marauder. This enemy is mainly hated for 2 separate reasons. One is the lack of freedom you have for dealing with him, which feels like an antithesis of what Eternal is doing. You do have options to kill him in 1 or 2 cycles, or even use grenades and remote detonate, to not even have to deal with the parry, but compared to how you can play around other enemies it is just lackluster. On another side is the fact that you always deal with him in the same way, which becomes tedious for a while - you need full commitment for this enemy (contrary to the Doom Hunter), which leads to lack of any meaningful interaction between him and other enemies. And not only that but fighting him is not interesting enough by itself. What is even worse than the issue with killing him is that he does not really present a threat, until you decide to fight him. He does not excel at anything - his projectile attack has a tiny hitbox and is slow, so you are unlikely to get hit by it. He and his dog struggle with verticality and your movement, so he ain’t gonna catch up to you majority of the time. Most of the time you can safely ignore him, while you kill everything else and then just finish him at the end of the encounter. This is what really makes him the worst enemy of Doom Eternal, he does not contribute almost anything to the encounters, and it is just a tedious thing you need to kill eventually.

Last, but not least I need to talk about the tutorialization of the game. Many people have been left with the impression that Eternal does not give them a choice in how they want to play the game, but that is quite the contrary. However, while someone could just blame this on those players themselves, I believe the main issue is actually in the tutorialization of the game. While it is great in a sense that it gives the player a lot of information, the place it fails is the emphasis. Doom Eternal is an action FPS, which is a fairly new genre, and most people do not have any expectations of how these games are supposed to be approached. And this is where the game tutorial failed I believe, it lacked the vital information about how the game is supposed to be played and instead focused on trivia about Weak Points. Weak Points are important, but not that important, as the emphasis on them even leads some people to believe that they are the best way to kill enemies. The reality is that Weak Points are just about quickly reducing a threat - if you want to kill an enemy you shouldn’t even consider the Weak Points. On another side, elements like the refilling first pip of the chainsaw aren’t emphasized, as well as the cycle based nature of the resource management (and the HUD contributes to that as well), which then leaves many players with very low resources to work within the long run. Last, but not least the map traversal was also something that should have been pushed into the players, way too many people are used from other games to just circle-strafing in place, backpedalling and dealing with enemies one by one, including the previous Doom games. It is natural that they would try to do what they are used to, so it is another very important point that should have been emphasized.

Special Thanks to Durandal and S.G.S for helping me with this review, as well as the discussions we had around the game, and sharing of ideas.

Reviewed on May 24, 2020

10

Rip and Tear, kill Marauders, and grapple hook every demon in sight.

Reviewed on May 23, 2020

0

Doom Eternal takes the 2016 game and cranks it up to eleven. Everything good about the first game is in here, like the fast-paced gameplay, rewarding upgrades, the variety of weapons that all have their use and all feel viable even in the endgame.

Many of the things it adds do come with a downside though. While it can definitely make the original feel lacking in features, this one feels more like they didn’t put much thought into what should or shouldn’t be added and just threw in anything they could think of and just didn’t do any trimming to make them actually work properly.

I do like all the new combat options which complement the even more chaotic battles. The ice grenade and flame belch add a whole new layer to how you play the game and manage resources. The chainsaw is now much more utilised as an ammo refresh.

One of the things I mentioned above about adding things without properly sculpting it to fit the gameplay is the extra lives system. It makes sense to have them I guess to fit the more difficult game. The problem is that they don’t refresh either on death or reloading checkpoints. In other words, let’s say you get to a really tough encounter with 3 lives, but lose all your lives and die near the end, at that point you’ll respawn at the start of the battle with zero extra lives, meaning that the game was basically handing you extra lives to say “We acknowledge you may need this extra help to survive the 10 minute warzones all over the level, but if you die during one of them we expect you to somehow succeed the second time with even LESS lives”. Just seems like a crazy system.

They also added some extra strategic elements to many demons. Unfortunately this is another 50/50 feature because while it’s nice that some enemies have weak points that you can destroy, the gameplay just does not give you the breathing room required to properly aim at specific portions of an enemies weak spots. You’ll be overwhelmed in seconds if you try to aim at a manucbus’s arms to slightly lower his damage output rather than just unloading into his fat stomach which you can do much easier while avoiding the other 70 demons in the room. Some of them though, like shooting a grenade into the cacodemon to instantly stagger them, work well.

Then there’s the additional enemies. Many are great, many are annoying. The marauder completely changes the playstyle of the game and is near impossible to properly fight with the other demons in the room. The arch-vile is just a pain in the ass, being a bullet sponge, teleporter, area of denial-fire user, summoner and buff totem all in one.
It feels like for everything the game adds, it doesn’t take 2 steps back so to speak, but each step they take isn’t as finely tuned as it should be.

As for the story… I don’t like the way Doom handles story. 95% of it is told in collectable codex’s. Unfortunately these contain so much lore-specific terminology that it’s near impossible to read any of them without constant cross-referencing with the other (missable) codex’s. I kind of just gave up after a while because not only is it a huge pace-breaker to try to read these in the middle of a mission, but trying to piece anything together when half the words they use require the knowledge of something else you need to find became a chore. If you’re going to have this much backstory why not actually use it to tell the story, and if you’re not going to use it why bother making it up? It’s the worst case of telling and not showing I’ve ever seen.

Even the stages didn’t feel any different from before, despite the massively improved potential of being on Earth for some portions of this game. Hell, Mars and Earth all feel too similar to each other. It actually seemed like it’d go in the opposite direction at first, I seem to recall feeling like the first 3 levels had their own unique style, but then it devolved into fire and brimstone everywhere with random destroyed buildings or ruins.

I will say this though, the platforming never once bothered me. I actually found it kind of fun. There’s some other things that were a pure net positive for me too, like removing challenges for runes. I never liked how the original would force you to use specific runes to master them. Now you can just set what you want and go. I’m also a fan of the fact you can unlock cheat codes that let you both go on a power trip and make re-runs through stages to do missions and get collectibles much faster.

So throughout the entire campaign I was fighting with myself whether I preferred this version to the 2016 game. Half the time I’d feel the benefits of the new things, and half the time I’d feel the frustration.

Then I tried the multiplayer. Instead of any kind of fun, balanced standard FPS deathmatch multiplayer we have a single asymmetric gimmick mode.

Battlemode is basically the equivalent of coin smash in Smash Bros. It’s something that should be an extra, something that you see on a menu and go “huh, I wonder what this is?” then maybe play it a few times for the novelty then forget about it and go back to stock smash. Except now there is no stock smash. Or time smash. Or anything, there’s only coin battle.

How they went from a perfectly functional multiplayer mode in 2016 to this travesty is baffling. If you only care about single player, Doom Eternal is an improvement on the original even with some questionable additions, but if you count multiplayer then Eternal falls flat.

Reviewed on May 13, 2020

2

fearless mechanics

Reviewed on May 04, 2020

1

Best FPS, better than the rest, lore is hilariously convoluted, level design comes straight from metal album covers (they always have guys) yet this time there’s mario involved and mario is pretty good right? The combat is an addicting frenzy that will melt your beurons until you’re rendered some gelatinous substance, which rules. I have never had to go back to work or listen to myself chew food no longer for I merely need never eat again. This is the citizen kane of video games. This is the stone cold Steve austin of foods for thoughts. THIS is my new Dad. Doom eternal, and if you disagree, then you need to go home and take a long, cold, hard nap. So get comfortable, bud.

Reviewed on May 03, 2020

0

Perhaps the best designed shooter I've ever played, but story and atmosphere were a big step back from 2016 for me.

Reviewed on May 03, 2020

0

I wrote a very long review of the game that’s double in size. If you want to see that it’s here (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1NtzV254ZRV3g4_e9gzxEge5CBjylbcA7ORH1nPs_hfY/edit?usp=sharing), otherwise the shorter one is posted here.Thanks to the user Tatsky for helping me shorten it a lot!

This game is something very special. I don’t even know where to begin. I guess with the negatives since it will be so short.
Some cutscenes aren’t skippable. Oh well. None in 2016 were so it’s an upgrade either way. There are some invisible walls and some weird places that count as falling out of the map. These don’t kill you anymore so it’s kind of fine just a little annoying. I guess it’s a bit buggy. There are times you can get stuck in a level because it’s not 100% clear where to go. To fix this problem, open the map. It’s very clear where to go then.

That’s kind of it?

Almost every choice in this game is almost a direct upgrade from Doom 2016. To be quite honest, I didn’t like 2016 at all. I think 2016 existing the way it does now explains why people are having complaints about Doom Eternal. It all comes down to one major problem.
Doom 2016 is way too easy.
It expects very little from you. The two most threatening enemies are not the big ones that do damage. One of them is the Imp, who has a small chance of hitting you with a hitscan fireball. 99% of the time they are true fodder enemies. The only other threatening enemy is the Pinky. I actually kind of like this enemy. It forces you to move in a more interesting way than every other enemy in the game.

2016 mostly requires you to circle strafe around enemies while shooting. The ammo is always plentiful for pretty much every gun so there is no reason to not switch from the strongest weapon. In most situations this is the Super Shotgun or Rocket Launcher. In others it’s the Gauss Cannon. Depending if you want damage with Super Shotgun and Rocket Launcher or some movement with Gauss Boosting. There is practically no reason to use any other weapon.
With basically only two useful weapons and gameplay as simple as “Hold W, A or D while aiming at an enemy so you move around or towards them” it gets very boring very quickly.

Glory Kills are freely given to you. All you need to do to get health is find the zombie that barely attacks, punch it once or twice and by then it’s in a Glory Kill state, giving you a bunch of health. Enemies are not aggressive enough to punish you in this game for doing that in a bad situation. This would be like if Dark Souls had an invincible heal that stopped enemies from attacking until it was over, and you can always roll out if an attack comes after. It makes Glory Kills have no risk, completely free health packs just for spamming punch on a guy two or three times.

Doom Eternal not only fixes these problems amazingly yet creates an interlocking system with them as elegantly as I can imagine.

For one, almost every enemy in Doom Eternal is a threat. They’re aggressive and will attack you at any moment. Not only that, but because they actually get to show off their aggression and AI, they are much clearly more unique and have many more roles in combat now. I am going to leave most of that in the indepth review but believe me that they are all threatening. That along with the amazing encounters make you have to play differently when different enemies are around. This dynamic almost doesn’t happen in 2016 due to enemies just not being aggressive enough. They can’t pressure you or make you do anything so you can just wail on them with bullets.

Speaking of, your moveset is much larger this time around. Not just because you have more moves but because the old ones that were useless are now useful. Every weapon has a use, however going through how each one is used is a bit long so I’m going to also leave that to the indepth review.

Before I get into the rest of it, let me clarify. You don’t need to constantly be switching to every weapon every chance you get. Infact, you can get away with using 2 or 3 of your favorites as long as they are different ammo types, then using the others when you are low on ammo. You also don’t really need to be switching weapon mods, it’s kind of just there for the cool factor. Pick the mods that you like and you’re fine.

Now to the other moves.
The most important one is the chainsaw. It’s basically a single Glory Kill that instead of giving you health, gives you ammo. The last pip recharges so as long as you aren’t missing your shots and being careful with not killing every Fodder enemy, you will always have at least half of your ammo. I think this makes a really cool choice. What’s more useful? Ammo or health? Health costs a little time to get with shooting an enemy with the Heavy Cannon and Ammo takes a resource that takes time to recharge. Either way, each enemy is a choice.

Ammo is low. This is 100% true. However, you almost always have the tools to get more ammo. As long as you are using weapons of different ammo types and using the chainsaw when you can, you almost never run out. Easier difficulties give you more ammo, for regular pickups and the chainsaw, so either way if ammo is an issue, you can always turn the difficulty down.

There is also a Blood Punch system. By doing two glory kills on Fodder or one on a larger enemy, your regular no damage punch becomes an insane health deleter. It’s the reason why you end up getting close to enemies. It’s just so strong. Worth being strong too, many enemies have really fast or strong melee attacks so it’s nice to have it that you can get them back that way.

Overall this game has a lot of systems (I didn't mention all of them in this short review) With the enemies creating as much pressure as they do, it does feel like you have to use all of them. That long with base ammo being relatively low makes this game demanding. Maybe too demanding for some, but this is why I mentioned 2016 may have had something to do with the reception of this game.

Even Nightmare in 2016 doesn’t push you as much as Hurt Me Plenty in Doom Eternal. Players who want to play Doom Eternal on the same difficulty that they did in 2016 are going to be met with expectations that were never there previously.
If Eternal named the difficulties in a traditional way I don’t think this would have been an issue. And yet when people are playing this game they end up going on a difficulty too high because they assume it’s similar to the last game, which is completely reasonable to expect.
Most people's problems with the game directly come with higher difficulty. Read the issues people have. “Ammo is too low and you have to use the chainsaw too often” is fixed with lower difficulty. “The game demands too much of you” is a very obvious one fixed with lower difficulty. Other than visuals, story and some bugs, everything is fixed by going on a difficulty lower and just playing there. The names aren’t even demeaning like in Wolfenstein so I don’t know why people won't just go down one to have a better time.

I mentioned visuals briefly there. I think the cartoony look is nice but I understand not liking it as much I guess? I think it makes the battlefield much clearer so it’s easier to see what’s going on, allowing for more stuff to do in gameplay. Items and enemies are colorful and easy to spot. Overall this is a good trade off, function over form.

I also think it’s funny that people complain about tutorials and yet people also say the game is too complicated or hard. I know both can exist but in this case I think they just aren’t listening to the game to be honest. Many people don’t know how the chainsaw refills the first pip, despite the game literally transporting you to a training room to tell you how it works. It’s screaming that it’s different from 2016. Yet there are, or at least were, many people who had no idea that’s how it worked.

Not to say the game is perfect. There are definitely stupid things in the game. I mentioned the bugs and invisible walls before, those are self explanatory. There are a few annoying enemies. The Marauders are kind of too easy once you figure them out. You clear the room and click on their face when they glow green. That’s it. Learning how to parry it was fun but it very quickly lost its charm for me. The bosses aren’t that great either honestly.

I can understand not having much fun with the game, maybe it just is too stressful. What I can’t understand is thinking it’s straight up bad. It uses the unique qualities of the medium in what I think is the best way yet. No other action game requires you use this many systems and think this much this quickly.

That is what games, not just video games, are about. They are about interactivity. If you’re not thinking, you’re not making choices or interacting with systems. If you are, it is at such a base level it doesn’t really take advantage of the medium I think. Not to say it has to be as complex as this, this just is one of the first action games to really go as far as it has.

Art doesn’t have to be for everyone. I think to make a good game you’re going to miss out on a lot of people. This game would catch a lot more if people were willing to turn the difficulty down.

Reviewed on May 02, 2020

3

Bigger, faster and even more brutal, DOOM Eternal is a satisfying sequel to the 2016 DOOM reboot. Unfortunately, you will have to power through its very difficult levels to be able to unlock the various cheats and enjoy the power fantasy we were promised - as being constantly about to die just isn't that much fun. Also it was really stupid to add challenging platforming sequences in a Doom game and I hope they will not do this again in the next installment. Finally, Mick Gordon's score is top-notch once again and fully embraces the metal side without being held back by id this time around.

Reviewed on Apr 27, 2020

1

doom eternal was good enough that i stopped playing anime games for the duration i was trying to complete it

Reviewed on Apr 25, 2020

4

doom eternal made doom 2016 look like wolfenstein the new order

Reviewed on Apr 25, 2020

3

iD Software should probably go down as one of the best set of devs in history, because they have made a work so excellently crafted in its design and innovative in use of arena fps mechanics that it's easily the best game that has come out of this year so far as well as one of the best of all time. It manages to take every single lesson that needed to be learned from Doom 2016's failings and applied a perfect fix from a top-down level.

I've never played a singular fps that kept my adrenaline pumping at full blast for most of the way through, with encounter design so phenomenally set teeming with particular enemies that make true on its core gameplay loops. Doom Eternal juggles loops of resource management, enemy prioritization, and utilization of movement all intertwined to each individual enemy. From the Arachnotron, probably the best enemy of the lot that forces you to utilize its weak points while it dodges your fire and pressures you down, to the Cyber Mancubi, each enemy makes use of your weapon variety and asks for the best play you can muster especially on Nightmare difficulty (which I played on the whole way through). The waves are also set perfectly to where as you take heavy enemies down there's new challenges to surprise you, with especially the slayer gates and later levels showing the best of this wave design.

The weapon balance and depth is also excellent, with two alt fire mods you can swap with that each bring their own costs and benefits, as well as the resource grind constantly asking you to use your entire loadout. Good play isn't just tuned to dodging enemy fire and spacing yourself correctly, but also utilizing every single weapon to their fullest extent while keeping track of loot pinatas to keep yourself in the midst of carnage. You'll know when you're in the zone when you're hook jumping into the air and constantly keeping yourself up above them dashing and jumping as you pelt rocket damage down upon your foes. If you have a single thing not on cooldown you're not using everything that you have.

That's probably the most ridiculous component that iD managed to do, the huge complexity that the game slowly eases you in before letting you become a walking one man army of rip and tear. The pacing of unlocks is fine tuned to where you're always getting something new from level to level to play around with, with excellent tutorializing that makes sure you have the knowledge you need to play efficiently and work on mastering your kit.

Music and aesthetics are also fantastic, with every single level looking amazing compared to Doom 2016's mostly same-y color palette. This is probably Mick Gordon's best work too banging in the background, especially with its remixes of 2016's great hits and the final level keeping that blood pumping. Probably going to be listening to it long after I'm done replaying the game.

There are of course, some miscellaneous and weak components for a game so ambitious in its design and extremely accessible. The platforming serves as nice downtime to let your blood cool down, although some of it especially the swimming portions being kind of boring if not impeding on the nonstop joyride. Ideally I'd probably layer the mostly-and-intentionally-nonsensical codex-loaded story to be cutscenes between combat to give you downtime if you need it and allow them to be completely skippable, with some walking if out of dev time. Not that I don't appreciate some of the environments and sense of scale that you walk through, but one specific level i.e. Sentinel Prime seems almost like a weird pacebreaker that could've used way more over time development.

There's also some overtuning and balance issues in some places. The Marauder, while I can find him somewhat inoffensive, makes you play a different game. When you've killed all the rest of the heavies and he's the last one left, you play Sekiro and just time your shit to kill him. He's not an interesting enemy and I'd prefer better use of Archviles to force you into a "deal with this enemy while you fight the others" instead. Also some of the weak point exploits are too powerful, with Cacodemons especially taking one sticky or rocket to make them nothing. The bosses also ALL SUCK, and either need complete reworks or wayyyy more dev time to make them interesting and fun to fight. I give a pass to the Icon of Sin for being an amazing spectacle but even his fight is twice as long as it needed to be, serving as a bfg dump that's one phase too long.

Other combat issues: The BFG, Unmakyr, and Crucible are underdeveloped, although at least they're easily ignored. I can kinda get it with the BFG and Unmakyr, one's pretty much a get out of jail free card that requires no skill to use other than uhh don't hit a wall loser, and the other is a close range meltbox. I just wish the ammo was either one per level at MOST or in a different mode entirely (like a survival mode! they'd work like shmup bombs), because while they don't exactly make encounters entire jokes they do undercut the design by a significant margin. The crucible especially is probably the biggest disappointment. You have a whole level building up this sword that you craft over time, and all it does is IK for 3 pips, a get-this-heavy-off-me weapon with only one move. It could've been a way more fleshed out weapon with more utility and less breaking the game.

At the end of the day though I can't deny that this is not only the best fps game I've played but maybe even my all time favorite action game. These issues are something I can tolerate on my own, and the game gives free reign to fine tune a lot of the elements yourself. It's ridiculously accessible. I look forward to the dlc, and I think the rest of this year nay the decade has a lot to live up to after this. (10/10)

Reviewed on Apr 19, 2020

10

Let’s hope this Doom isn’t Eternal, because boy was 2016 better. Overall worth your money though, play it, form an opinion on it, post your opinion on it, get yelled at for your opinion on it, it’s a good time overall. 4 stars.

Reviewed on Apr 08, 2020

1

this is gonna be one people debate endlessly about

is it better than 2016, is it the right direction for doom, is that really the ending they went with, all these questions that may never get answered except for that last one

as im sure you know by now, this is very different from 2016 which is the absolute best thing for it. going from a game about being the autarch of destruction to a first person shooter with immense depth in its mechanics is a uncharacteristically subtle change that makes a world of difference, which is exactly what a sequel needs

doom eternal is hard as shit but its tacticality in how you "rip" and "tear" as one might say makes every shootout engaging as hell. some fights are a bit reliant on having enemies with too much health or just spawning a bunch of them, but despite that minority of lame fights the combat itself is inherently extremely engaging.

theres a lot more to this game that i could get into, but the core loop itself is so great that you have to play this game simply for that.

Reviewed on Apr 08, 2020

9

It is one of the best first person shooters I ever played. It seems very complex and daunting at first, asks you to master all of the systems in the first few levels but when it finally clicks it is amazing. Figuring out each big arena fight is a blast and it keeps getting better the better you get at the game. I love it<3

Reviewed on Apr 07, 2020

1

Absolute masterpiece of a game. This is a true evolution for the FPS genre, and one of the greatest FPS games released in the past decade, and of all time. I had an absolute blast playing it from the engaging combat, fun platforming, excellent exploration and secrets, it was a pure package of fun. The soundtrack by Mick Gordon is of course brilliant and really complements the game. I really struggle to think of any actual complaints, just minor nitpicks.

Played on Ultra Violence difficulty.

Reviewed on Apr 05, 2020

1

cuantos mas enemigos hay mas me ha hecho pensar que en realidad es un coñazo de juego
mejor que el anterior
le sobran muchas cosas

Reviewed on Mar 30, 2020

0

I didn't think Doom could get any better than 2016 but this proves otherwise. At first I didn't really like the more limited ammo but as I got more weapons and realized the chainsaw slowly reloads, I ended up really enjoying the strategy of it all.

Also I know a lot of people don't care for the 'story' in these kind of games but I welcome the cutscenes, set pieces, and other narrative additions. It really makes you feel like an unstoppable force.

But yeah with more enemies, locations, and weapons you can't go wrong with Doom: Eternal (except the Marauders, screw those guys)

Reviewed on Mar 29, 2020

1

id always said that combat was like a puzzle in some respects. At first I was skeptical for what this would mean for what was created in 2016, but this game sold me. In Doom 2016, I almost exclusively used the siege mode gauss cannon and the grenade launcher combat shotgun. I had no reason to use anything else. In this game, I have to use every tool at my disposal to succeed, and therefore feels much more engaging and rewarding. The exploration is also very fun and gives lots of high value items. Another feature I was skeptical of was the platforming, however, the team's utilization sold me on it. Next, there was the story. Doom 2016 had a skeletal story, that did not detract or add anything of value in my opinion. On the contrary, this time around id has expanded the scope and implementation of a story that does a great job to add context and impact. I have no complaints

Reviewed on Mar 27, 2020

1

So many issues with this game. TL:DR - It is a huge step down from Doom 2016. They tried to change everything instead of build off what made Doom 2016 great, which was simplicity.

The issues start with the overall feel of the game. Doom 2016 was based in some sort of foreseeable reality, with a hint of the supernatural. In a distant future, humans have made it to Mars and are able to siphon this energy called Argent Energy. After years of research, it's found out that Argent Energy comes from a "realm" they call Hell. Bla bla bla, Doom guy awakens, and you fight the demons. In Doom Eternal, they decided to go full supernatural and bring in what is practically heaven and hell, prophecies, demonic and angelical hierarchies, It's so far gone from the more simple story it's predecessor was.

Moving on to the design and art direction for the game. While I think that the updated enemies are fantastic, the game loses me with the UI and HUD elements. I understand the retro look they were going for, but holy fuck is it hard to read.

Reviewed on Mar 22, 2020

1

While I still have a ways to go before I actually "complete" DOOM: Eternal, I have finished the campaign and done a select amount of side activities (enough to know how they all work).

DOOM: Eternal has been one of my most anticipated games since I ran the credits of DOOM's 2016 reboot all those years ago, and the wait was worth it. DOOM: Eternal does what ANY sequel should do: use the previous entry as a launching point to further refine and add on to what you had before, and not breaking anything down that didn't need any fixing.

Eternal brings us exactly what you'd expect for a sequel to the previous DOOM, for better and sometimes for the worst.

For the better: DOOM: Eternal adds onto the already solid foundation of monsters presented last time around with a more robust assortment of demons to annihilate, some totally new to the series, and some returning from games of the past. I was admittedly terrified to see that both Pain Elementals and Arch-Viles made a return in DOOM: Eternal, because those two enemies alone made my experience with the classic DOOM II a totally nightmare, ultimately leaving me more frustrated with that game than I wanted to. Thankfully, the way that they're both implemented into the experience makes them much easier to deal with while still maintaining a fair level of challenge to fight against them. Both enemy types have seen dramatic changes in how they operate this time around to relive a lot of the anxiety I had heading into this experience.

With the overall roster of enemies this time around, there's enough of them that helm different tactics to take on the player that combat encounters feel rather fresh whenever you engage in one (which is all the time). Demons will helm specific similarities between each other, but have distinct abilities that cooperate with other demons in any single combat encounter to make every single killing frenzy that of a complicated and brutally fast game of chess, figuring priorities in what needs to be taken down first and with what weapon, calculating weaknesses, and how the layout of the area you're in is going to support which tactics. This is where DOOM: Eternal shines the brightest; thinking on your toes while strafing and jumping around everywhere like a mad man while fifty different projectiles are being hurled your way.

DOOM: Eternal's level design is also fantastic, mixing together tight corridors with open arenas, building consistently different yet still ultimately similar combat scenarios, mixing in the usual secrets to incentivize exploration.

Unfortunately, this is where DOOM: Eternal's issues begin to creep in. While for the most part, the level designs are rather straight forward on where you need to go and what you have to do at any point in time, some of the earlier levels of the game can be obnoxious gauntlents of samey coridors that you can get easily lost in; there's a map to relegate this issue, but having to constantly pause the game to figure out where you're going on the frequent severely kills the pacing of the game. The later levels never felt to have this issue, which could either be the fact that they're possibly designed better, or I adjusted myself to think the way the game was thinking, but nevertheless, the first few missions of the game were constant ups and downs.

On top of the progression issues in levels, there's newly added swimming sections added to the experience, which suck big time. While being ultimately brief, any time you're required to swim around in any given area because of a puzzle or you just need to get from point A to point B is a total hassle in how it controls, and again, kills the pacing of the experience. This obnoxious change in controls and pacing is also not helped my a large majority of swimming sections being pools of "tainted water" that do chip damage to the player, making you have to continuously swim around to get the necessary hazmat suit charge-ups or deal with a constantly annoying barrage of chip damage; neither of which are any fun to deal with.

A lot of people have levied complaints towards Eternal for the newly added platforming sections of the game, which I can sort of understand where they're coming from, but I never found them to be that big of an issue. There are certain platforming-heavy levels towards the later half of the game, but the game is pretty forgiving on any mistakes that are made during platforming, so I didn't find it too big of a problem; they're still not the best designed things in the world, continuously propelling the truth that first-person platforming is stupid difficult to nail down properly, but they're functional nevertheless.

The last of seemingly small complaints is that of the end of the experience, which is really cathartic to reach, culminating with a rather typical "video-gamey" final boss that's rife with the typical cliche's early 2000's boss battles had, however, the fight is still really fun to pull through thanks to the fluid movement mechanics at DOOM: Eternal's core. The boss isn't the issue, though, but that the experience just sorta... ends, like out of nowhere. As soon as the boss falls you get a brief cutscene, a rehashed song back from the previous DOOM game, and we go to credits. I'm not expecting some sort of explosive finale of an ending, especially considering the fight that leads up to the end, but the narrative cuts out so quickly without you ever seeing the heroics you pulled getting any sort of real-world payoff. Abruptly ending the experience was also a huge problem in the previous game,and I was hoping to see that remedied this time around, but it was only made worse.

Besides all that jargon I previously spouted, there's two actually serious issues I have with DOOM: Eternal.

I played this on PlayStation 4, which is as functional as one would expect. There's rarely any performance issues, and having HDR support even on the base systems leads to a graphically beautiful experience, but the difficulty of the game does not take into account that you're at a severe disadvantage using a gamepad rather than a mouse and keyboard. DOOM: Eternal expects a ton of precision from the player in terms of how/where they're shooting, with tiny weakpoint areas on enemies coupled with the amount of damage they deal at any point in time. This means that a large majority of people are not going to be able to maneuver around the game like it wants you to. Aim assist is a thing and it mostly works for Eternal, pulling your crosshair around to get a general hit on enemies instead of missing all the time, yet you're more than likely rarely ever going to pull of the kinds of stunts the game is asking you to do. This all culminates to how the difficulty works overall, because if you're planning on playing this on console and on any difficulty either than the easiest, you're in for an absolutely chaotic ride. Setting the difficulty to just the "medium" setting had me getting reamed over and over again by common type enemies, which feels extremely embarassing considering my storied history of completing CoD and Halo campaigns on their highest difficulty, but when you look into how DOOM operates, in how fast it always wants you to go and how precise it wants you to be with its aiming, it's clear that the blame isn't that with a "bad" player, but that the game just isn't designed for a gamepad with higher difficulties in mind. Co-director Hugo Martin claims he's a big gamepad guy, rarely ever going for a mouse and keyboard, and if he honestly thinks the balance is where it should stay at right now, I'd like to see him try and play this on "Nightmare" difficulty with a gamepad and say it's perfect where it's currently at.

Thankfully, there is some additional difficulty tuning in the game by way of unlockable in-game cheats that don't stunt your progression, as well as a fail-safe option a player can take without having any hindrance put towards their progression that will add a ton of armor to the player, easing up on them severely. I only ever had to use this once (second to last boss of the game), and I was on the easiest difficulty when doing this, so I don't know if this becomes available on anything higher than just the easiest setting.

Eternal's last big issue is that it outstays its welcome. I know that a lot of people will find this blasphemous to state, but DOOM: Eternal did not need to be a twenty-hour game. Several levels feel really stretched for length to try and pull as much time as it can from the player, with the repetitious combat arenas that pop up in sometimes unlikely places, as well as the implemented platforming/swimming sections that add on to the length. The general "game flow" works wonders as you progress through it, but I started to feel the length of the whole experience bog down on me by the third-to-last level. I got to a point where the combat all just felt the same and the encounters just came at such a frequent pace and went on for so long when the end-goal was so close that a creeping sense of boredom began to shadow over me. I wouldn't say I ever got truly "bored" by the game, because its frenetic energy in all presentation/gameplay aspects keeps the pacing going considerably well, however, the facade can only last for so long. I've said this before and I'll say it again, but I would much rather play a four-hour experience that is tight, fun, and never had a dull moment, tan a fifty-hour one that's full of boring tedium; DOOM: Eternal really rides the line of that philosophy towards the end of its campaign.

So, I know I spent a ton of time complaining, but I would still highly recommend DOOM: Eternal. It's refreshing to get classic-styled FPS games out in the current market, especially with the kind of production budget this game has, but it sadly doesn't top its predecessor in any intriguing ways. DOOM: Eternal is still an overall more enjoyable experience than DOOM (2016), but it has enough tradeoffs to make it only a slight improvement than a leap into gaming perfection.

Reviewed on Mar 22, 2020

3

Makes you feel like a god.

Reviewed on Mar 21, 2020

1